Close

Operate. Train. Consult. Sponsor.

Our field of action in 4 pillars

Allowing children with heart defects to come to France for surgery: this is the reason for being and the main mission of Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque. For each child, an important organization must be set up so that his or her arrival and treatment take place in the best conditions.

240
Children of the world operated on in 2021
4
Humanitarian missions on average per year
560
Doctors trained since 2006
366
Children sponsored for school in 2021

OPERATING the world's children

Each year, Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque finances heart surgery in France for seriously ill children from disadvantaged countries. If Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque has chosen to operate on children in France, it is to ensure that the quality of care is irreproachable, controlled and medically monitored throughout their lives. 

1

An excellent care pathway for children

Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque cares for children aged from a few months to 15 years old in 9 pediatric cardiac surgery centers throughout France. These highly specialized units are equipped with advanced equipment and high quality care staff.

Diagnosis, surgery, resuscitation, intervention procedures... are all high quality care that Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque wishes to offer to all the children of the world.

1

Heart surgery only possible in France

The Association agrees to manage so-called "complex" cardiac malformations. These pathologies are rare but extremely disabling. Thanks to specialized surgery performed in France, these children will be saved or at least functionally improved.

Even if sometimes only so-called "palliative" surgery can be offered to them, it seems to us that quality of life is as important as life span.

1

Lifetime medical follow-up for children who have undergone surgery

Once the child has returned to his or her country, the Association makes every effort to keep a link and follow his or her development; both socially and medically.

The information channels are based on a solid network of referral doctors trained by the Association over the years. These doctors, paediatricians or cardiologists are indispensable relays for the continuity of our action. They are supported by local volunteer referents of Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque. All of this allows us to benefit from a follow-up rate of 89% for the children operated on!

Besides the medical objective, the monitoring of children is also in line with the Association's other actions: we have been able to develop a scientific research action based on the medium and long-term results of the most complex congenital cardiopathies, allowing the publication of several articles in international medical journals.

25 years and 4,000 children later, we receive thank-you notes, wedding and birth photos of our little ones who have grown up... life takes its course! 

Medical Department Team

CONSULT during humanitarian missions

Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque regularly carries outmissions to the children's countries of origin. These visits allow us to meet the doctors and partners of the Association on site and to diagnose the pathologies requiring treatment. 

1
to 7 missions organized per year
0
Children's country of origin
1
Children consulted on average per mission

Where it all begins!

Working with 70 countries requires regular and strong relationships with the referring doctors who identify the children. This is why we carry out an average of 4 missions to the children's countries of origin each year. These missions allow us to meet the doctors, to identify potential candidates for the training of doctors and to better understand the local problems: level of medical equipment, geographical remoteness of the populations, access to medicines, living conditions and above all to see our patients again and diagnose new cases.

Each mission is made up of an average of 3 people, including at least one cardiopediatrician and one permanent staff member of the Association. Costs are kept under control thanks to the presence of local referents allowing us to save "living expenses" on site.

Mission to Accra, Ghana in 2018
Mission in Brazzaville, Congo - 2015
Mission to Accra, Ghana in 2018
Mission in Brazzaville, Congo - 2015
Mission to Tanguieta in Benin - 2014
Mission to Tanguieta in Benin - 2014
Previous
Next

Train doctors in cardiopediatrics

The development of doctor training aims to improve the quality of care for children. This desire to go further and closer to children is part of the genesis of Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque 's mission: to enable all the world's children to benefit from technological advances and to offer them a quality of care that we would like for our own children.

The association Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque and the Francine Leca Foundation finance these training programmes. Under the aegis of the Caritas Foundation, the Francine Leca Foundation is entitled to receive tax-deductible donations from the IFI.

More than 560 doctors trained in 28 countries through a training programme adapted to their needs:

TRAINING 5/5

. Learning to diagnose

. Comprehensive, useful and practical training in cardiopediatrics

> 50 courses on mobile application

MASTER CLASS

. Learn in depth about heart disease and ultrasound.

. Specific and technical training

> Videoconferencing for groups of 100 doctors

E-CONSULT ' ACTION

. Learning from patients with complex cases

. Training based on specific issues

> Private lessons by video conference, in the presence of the patient

MISSION TRAINING

. Learning from clinical to diagnostic

. Comprehensive training accessible to all levels

> In vivo learning in a small group alongside an expert doctor

ECHO-TRAINING

. Learn ultrasound with an "expert" programme

. Advanced training for experienced cardiopediatricians only

> One week internship in France in a hospital with training on a machine

Training courses for doctors:

SPONSORING children who have had surgery

Since 2009, Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque has launched a programme to sponsor children who have undergone surgery at school, in countries where this is possible. The aim? To provide schooling for children operated on by Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque. These children, because of their pathology, were generally unable to start school before their surgery.

You can sponsor one of these children. Contact our team of volunteers who are actively working on this by sending an email toparrainage@mecenat-cardiaque.org or by telephone on 01 49 24 02 02.

1
children in school in 2021
1
countries
300 € /year
per child

Countries of origin of the children: Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Chad, Comoros, Congo Brazzaville, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Gambia, Haiti, Laos, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Rwanda, Senegal, Togo, Vietnam.

Juvénal, a Roman poet from the end of the first century, said "Mens Sana in corpore Sano", (a healthy mind in a healthy body), referring to the ambition that body and mind should both rise together in harmony. Schooling, often nonexistent or interrupted due to health problems and lack of means, must resume when the child returns home cured or very much improved by surgery ; this is one of the creeds of Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque. Our school sponsorship team is actively working on this.

1

366 children sponsored in the 2021/2021 school year

1- Implementation is only possible in countries with a relatively stable political situation to allow for monitoring by a local referent. This referent is a volunteer or an NGO with a local presence

2- The children must live in a geographical area where they are school-age and the parents must be motivated to ensure the child's school attendance.

3 - The family's level of resources must be modest.

1

A team of volunteers at the heart of the sponsorship operation

In each country we recruit one or more volunteer referents or we sign an agreement with a local NGO to :

-carry out initial social surveys,

-control of the destination of funds,

-monitoring of children, 

-the collection of information that we will pass on to the sponsors.

1

A fixed and shared tuition fee of €25/month

Each sponsor finances the schooling of one or more children by name. The sponsor makes a moral commitment. The cost of financing a child's schooling is 25€ per month, or 300€ per year. These costs include the cost of :

- schooling,

- books,

- supplies,

- the child's uniform

This budget paid in the form of a donation is tax deductible like all other donations to Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque.

Samantha Davies

Route du Rhum: 21 children will be saved!

On November 9, 2022, Samantha Davies took the start of the Route du Rhum aboard her new boat Initiatives-Cœur, destination Point-à-Pitre in Guadeloupe. She finished this race in style by qualifying for the next Vendée Globe and by ensuring that 21 children with heart problems will soon be operated on!

Read more "

This website uses of Cookies to offer you a better quality of navigation.

Close

Opérer. Former. Consulter. Parrainer.

Notre champs d’action en 4 piliers

Permettre à des enfants atteints de malformations cardiaques de venir se faire opérer en France : c’est la raison d’être et la mission principale de Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque. Pour chaque enfant, une organisation importante est à mettre en place pour que sa venue et son traitement se déroulent dans les meilleures conditions.

240
Enfants du monde opérés en 2021
4
Missions humanitaires en moyenne par an
560
Médecins formés depuis 2006
366
Enfants parrainés scolairement en 2021

OPÉRER les enfants du monde

Chaque année, Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque finance l’opération cardiaque en France d’enfants gravement malades et issus de pays défavorisés. Si Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque a choisi d’opérer les enfants en France, c’est pour leur assurer une qualité de soin irréprochable, contrôlée et un suivi médical tout au long de leur vie. 

Un parcours de soin d'excellence pour les enfants

Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque prend en charge les enfants âgés de quelques mois à 15 ans dans 9 centres de chirurgie cardiaque pédiatrique à travers toute la France. Ces unités hautement spécialisées bénéficient d’un équipement technique de pointe et d’un personnel soignant de haut niveau.

Diagnostic, chirurgie, réanimation, procédures interventionnelles … sont des soins de haute qualité que Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque souhaite offrir à tous les enfants du monde.

Des chirurgies cardiaques possible qu'en France

L’Association accepte de prendre en charge des malformations cardiaques dites « complexes ». Ces pathologies sont rares mais extrêmement invalidantes. Grâce à une chirurgie spécialisée et pointue réalisée en France, ces enfants seront sauvés ou au moins fonctionnellement améliorés.

Même si parfois seule une chirurgie dite «palliative» peut leur être offerte, il nous semble que la qualité de vie est aussi importante que la durée de vie.

Un suivi médical à vie pour les enfants opérés

Une fois l’enfant reparti dans son pays, l’Association met tout en oeuvre pour garder un lien et suivre son développement ; tant au niveau social que médical.

Les canaux d’informations s’appuient sur un solide réseau de médecins référents formés par l’Association au fil des ans. Ces médecins, pédiatres ou cardiologues sont des relais de qualité indispensables pour la continuité de notre actionIls sont appuyés par les référents locaux bénévoles de Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque. Tout ceci permet de bénéficier d’un taux de suivi des enfants opérés de 89% ! 

Outre l’objectif médical, le suivi des enfants s’inscrit aussi dans la continuité des autres actions de l’Association : nous avons pu développer une action de recherche scientifique basée sur les résultats à moyen et long terme des cardiopathies congénitales les plus complexes, permettant la publication de plusieurs articles dans des revues médicales internationales.

25 ans et 4 000 enfants plus tard, nous recevons des remerciements, des photos de mariage et de naissance de nos petits devenus grands … la vie reprend ses droits ! 

Équipe du Pôle médical

CONSULTER lors de missions humanitaires

Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque effectue régulièrement des missions dans les pays d’origine des enfants. Ces visites permettent de rencontrer les médecins et les partenaires de l’Association sur place et de diagnostiquer les pathologies nécessitant une prise en charge. 

1
à 7 missions organisées par an
0
Pays d'origine des enfants
1
Enfants consultés en moyenne par mission

Là où tout commence !

Travailler avec 70 pays nécessite d’entretenir des relations régulières et solides avec les médecins référents qui identifient les enfants. C’est pourquoi nous effectuons chaque année, en moyenne, 4 missions dans les pays d’origine des enfants. Ces missions permettent de rencontrer les médecins, d’identifier des candidats potentiels pour la formation des médecins et de mieux comprendre les problématiques locales : niveau d’équipement médical, éloignement géographique des populations, accès aux médicaments, conditions de vie et surtout de revoir nos opérés ainsi que diagnostiquer de nouveaux cas.

Chaque mission est composée en moyenne de 3 personnes, dont au minimum un cardiopédiatre et un permanent de l’Association. Les coûts sont maîtrisés grâce à la présence de référents locaux nous permettant de faire l’économie de « frais de vie » sur place.

Mission à Accra au Ghana en 2018
Mission à Brazzaville au Congo - 2015
Mission à Accra au Ghana en 2018
Mission à Brazzaville au Congo - 2015
Mission à Tanguieta au Bénin - 2014
Mission à Tanguieta au Bénin - 2014
Précédent
Suivant

FORMER les médecins à la cardiopédiatrie

Le développement de la formation des médecin a pour but d’améliorer la qualité du parcours soin des enfants. Cette volonté d’aller toujours plus loin et au plus près des enfants s’inscrit dans la genèse de la mission de Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque : celle de permettre à tous les enfants du monde de bénéficier des avancées technologiques et leur offrir une qualité de soins que nous souhaiterions pour nos propres enfants.

L’association Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque et la fondation Francine Leca financent ces programmes de formation. Sous l’égide de la Fondation Caritas, La Fondation Francine Leca est habilitée à recevoir des dons déductibles fiscalement de l’IFI.

Plus de 560 médecins formés dans 28 pays grâce à un programme de formation adapté à leur besoin :

FORMATION 5/5

. Apprendre à diagnostiquer

. Formation globale, utile et pratique à la cardiopédiatrie

> 50 cours sur application mobile

MASTER CLASS

. Apprendre en profondeur les cardiopathies et l’échographie.

. Formation spécifique et technique

> Visioconférence par groupe de 100 médecins

E-CONSULT ' ACTION

. Apprendre sur des patients aux cas complexes

. Formation à partir de problématiques précises

> Cours particuliers en visioconférence, en présence du patient

FORMATION EN MISSION

. Apprendre du clinique au diagnostic

. Formation globale accessible à tous niveaux

> Apprentissage in vivo en petit groupe aux côtés d’un médecin expert

ECHO-TRAINING​

. Apprendre l’échographie grâce à un programme « expert »

. Formation pointue réservée aux cardiopédiatres confirmés

> Stage d’une semaine en France à l’hôpital avec un apprentissage sur appareil

Des formations au service des médecins :

PARRAINER les enfants opérés

Depuis 2009, Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque a lancé un programme destiné à parrainer scolairement les enfants opérés, dans les pays où cela est possible. L’objectif ?  Assurer une scolarité aux enfants opérés par Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque. Ces enfants, du fait de leur pathologie n’ont généralement pas pu commencer leur scolarisation avant leur intervention chirurgicale.

Vous pouvez parrainer l’un de ces enfants. Contactez notre équipe de bénévoles qui s’y emploie activement en envoyant un mail à  parrainage@mecenat-cardiaque.org ou par téléphone au 01 49 24 02 02.

1
enfants scolarisés en 2021
1
pays
1 € /an
par enfant

Les pays d’origine des enfants : Bénin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroun, Comores, Congo Brazzaville, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Gambie, Haïti, Laos, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritanie, Niger, République Démocratique du Congo, Rwanda, Sénégal, Tchad, Togo, Vietnam.

Juvénal, poète latin de la fin du premier siècle, disait « Mens Sana in corpore Sano », (un esprit sain dans un corps sain) c’est à dire l’ambition que le corps et l’esprit s’élèvent tous deux en harmonie. La scolarité, souvent nulle ou interrompue pour des problèmes de santé et de moyens, doit reprendre lorsque l’enfant revient chez lui guéri ou très amélioré par la chirurgie ; c’est un des crédos de Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque. Notre équipe de parrainage scolaire s’y emploie activement.

366 enfants parrainés au cours de l'année scolaire 2021/2021

1- La mise en place n’est possible que dans les pays ayant une situation politique relativement stable pour permettre le suivi par un référent local. Ce référent est un bénévole ou une ONG ayant une présence locale

2- Les enfants doivent vivre dans une zone géographique où ils sont scolarisables et les parents doivent être motivés pour assurer l’assiduité scolaire de l’enfant.

3 – Le niveau de ressources de la famille doit être modeste.

Une équipe de bénévoles au coeur du fonctionnement du parrainage

Dans chaque pays nous recrutons un ou plusieurs référents bénévoles ou nous signons une convention avec une ONG présente localement pour :

– assurer les enquêtes sociales initiales,

– le contrôle de la destination des fonds,

– le suivi des enfants, 

–  le recueil d’informations que nous transmettrons aux parrains.

Un coût de scolarité fixe et mutualisé de 25€/mois

Chaque parrain finance la scolarité d’un ou plusieurs enfants nominativement. Le parrain s’engage moralement. Le coût pour financer les frais de scolarité d’un enfant est de 25€ par mois soit 300€ par an. Ces frais comprenne la prise en charge de : 

– la scolarité,

– des livres,

– des  fournitures,

– de l’uniforme de l’enfant

Ce budget versé sous forme de don bénéficie d’une déduction fiscale comme tous les autres dons à Mécénat Chirurgie Cardiaque.

Tour de France : 21 enfants pourront être opérés !

Depuis 2003, nous avons la chance d’être partenaire de l’un des plus grands événements sportif en France : Le Tour de France. À travers diverses opérations de collecte, nous avons déjà offert une opération du cœur à 337 enfants du monde. Grâce à cette édition, 21 enfants supplémentaires pourront bientôt bénéficier d’un second souffle.

Lire plus »

Étape du Tour 2022 : Les Coureurs du Cœur au sommet de leur motivation pour sauver des enfants !

Dimanche 10 juillet, c’était le retour tant attendu de l’Étape du Tour ! Cette étape du Tour de France, réalisée dans les conditions des professionnels par des cyclistes amateurs, n’avait pas eu lieu depuis 2019. Cette année plus de 260 cyclistes se sont inscrits avec un dossard solidaire au profit de l’Association… un record d’inscription, et par conséquent, de collecte en faveur des enfants cardiaques !

Lire plus »

Ce site internet utilise des Cookies pour vous offrir une meilleure qualité de navigation.